Go

This World Made Itself by Miwa Matreyek

Livestream

Date —

June 12, 2020

Time —

10:30 PM - 11:00 PM

Location —

Livestream

Livestream

Watch at folda.ca/livestream or on the SpiderWebShow Facebook page

June 12 @ 10:30PM EDT (11:30PM ADT / 8:30PM MDT / 7:30PM PDT) 

 

This World Made Itself (2014)

This World Made Itself is a multimedia live performance work combining projected animation and the artist’s own shadow silhouette, as she interacts with the fantastical world of video, merging film and theater to create a unique kind of spectacle. This World Made Itself is a visually and musically rich journey through the history of the earth, from the universe’s epic beginnings to the complex world of humanity. The piece is at once semi-scientific (like flipping through a children’s encyclopedia), and emotional, surreal, and dreamlike.

Created and performed by Miwa Matreyek

Music by Steve Ellison (Flying Lotus), Careful (aka Eric Lindley) and Mileece

Created with support from Creative Capital and a Special Projects Grant by Princess Grace Foundation

Two of Matreyek’s other critically-acclaimed works, Myth and Infrastructure and Infinitely Yours will also be presented at this year’s FOLDA.